United Soccer League Announces 2019 Sounders FC 2 Schedule

S2 set to play 17 home matches at Tacoma’s Cheney Stadium; 2019 campaign begins at home on Saturday, March 9 vs. Rio Grande Valley FC

SEATTLE, WASH. – The United Soccer League on Wednesday unveiled the complete 2019 schedule, with Sounders FC 2 hosting 17 matches at Cheney Stadium during the club’s second campaign in Tacoma. The 34-game slate begins on Saturday, March 9 with a home match against Rio Grande Valley FC. Kickoff times for each game are being announced at a later date.

S2 will play four of its first five matches of the season at home, followed by five consecutive road games from April 10-May 4. Cascadia rival Portland Timbers 2 visits Cheney Stadium on Sunday, May 12, while Seattle travels to Portland on Sunday, September 22.

Building off a historic season that saw almost 3 million fans attend games in the 2018 regular season and USL Cup Playoffs, the 2019 USL Championship regular season will see the league’s 36 teams play home-and-home series within its own conference. All of the action will be available digitally through ESPN+, with future announcements regarding the league’s national television schedule being made at a future date.

Saturday night contests dominate the 2019 regular-season schedule, with almost three-quarters of the league’s games (455 of 612) set for prime weekend dates. The busiest day of the season arrives on Saturday, September 28 with an 18-game slate that sees every team across the league in action.

In November of 2017, Seattle Sounders FC and the Tacoma Rainiers announced that beginning in 2018, Sounders FC 2’s previously-announced transition to Tacoma is accelerating, allowing S2 to play its home matches at Cheney Stadium while progress continues toward a new soccer-specific facility. The two clubs previously reached a historic agreement to build a 5,000-seat facility in Central Tacoma on the footprint of Cheney Stadium. While that process moves forward, South Sound soccer fans are now able to see their USL side play in Tacoma several seasons ahead of schedule.

 

2019 SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 2 SCHEDULE

DAY DATE OPPONENT VENUE
Saturday March 9 vs. Rio Grande Valley FC Cheney Stadium
Saturday March 16 vs. LA Galaxy II Cheney Stadium
Saturday March 23 at Tulsa Roughnecks FC ONEOK Field
Friday March 29 vs. New Mexico United Cheney Stadium
Monday April 1 vs. Sacramento Republic FC Cheney Stadium
Wednesday April 10 at Orange County SC OC Great Park
Saturday April 13 at Las Vegas Lights FC Cashman Field
Saturday April 20 at Phoenix Rising FC Phoenix Rising Soccer Complex
Friday April 26 at San Antonio FC Toyota Field
Saturday May 4 at OKC Energy FC Taft Stadium
Sunday May 12 vs. Portland Timbers 2 Cheney Stadium
Saturday May 18 vs. Reno 1868 FC Cheney Stadium
Sunday May 26 vs. Fresno FC Cheney Stadium
Wednesday May 29 at LA Galaxy II StubHub Center
Saturday June 1 vs. El Paso Locomotive FC Cheney Stadium
Saturday June 8 at Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC Weidner Field
Wednesday June 12 vs. Real Monarchs SLC Cheney Stadium
Saturday June 15 at Austin Bold FC Circuit of the Americas
Saturday July 6 at Rio Grande Valley FC H-E-B Park
Saturday July 13 at Real Monarchs SLC Zions Bank Stadium
Wednesday July 24 vs. Las Vegas Lights FC Cheney Stadium
Saturday July 27 vs. OKC Energy FC Cheney Stadium
Saturday August 10 vs. Orange County SC Cheney Stadium
Saturday August 17 at El Paso Locomotive FC Southwest University Park
Tuesday August 27 vs. Phoenix Rising FC Cheney Stadium
Friday August 30 vs. San Antonio FC Cheney Stadium
Saturday September 7 at Sacramento Republic FC Papa Murphy’s Park
Tuesday September 10 at Reno 1868 FC Greater Nevada Field
Sunday September 22 at Portland Timbers 2 Providence Park
Saturday September 28 vs. Tulsa Roughnecks FC Cheney Stadium
Saturday October 5 at Fresno FC Chukchansi Park
Saturday October 12 vs. Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC Cheney Stadium
Wednesday October 16 at New Mexico United Isotopes Park
Saturday October 19 vs. Austin Bold FC Cheney Stadium